Jacie Scott

This slideshow requires JavaScript.


Jacie Scott’s sweet, fun-loving reputation can be validated with just a glance. The 24-year-old has a knack for making those around her feel comfortable, despite the fact that her striking image currently holds a prominent presence in ads for the newest season of CMT’s Dallas Cowboys Cheerleaders: Making the Team. But whether you know her as a member the world’s most famous cheerleading squad or recognize her name from bylines in Park Cities People, Scott’s talent and exuberant nature help her stand out.
Born in New Orleans and raised in Monroe, La., Scott developed an affinity for dancing at an early age, having trained in ballet, tap, jazz, modern, and hip-hop since age 6. In 2008, she headed to Louisiana State University to study journalism and dance with the LSU Tiger Girls, who were crowned the 2010 Universal Cheerleading Association Hip-Hop National Champions. As graduation loomed, Scott searched for her next adventure. A fellow Tiger Girl, who was planning to audition for the DCC, encouraged Scott to do so also. After a recruiter also reached out to her, Scott decided to go for it – despite her initial hesitance.

“I remember seeing the show on CMT and being so intimidated by the whole thing,” says Scott, who’s been a member of the team since 2012. “But I had nothing to lose and thought it could be a cool experience, so I said to my teammate, ‘Hey, I’m coming with you!’”

As a fourth-year veteran and group leader, Scott has a deep appreciation for the many wonderful circumstances the DCC has brought into her life, including ample opportunities to help raise awareness for cancer research. “I lost my mother to pancreatic cancer at 18, so I have a huge heart for that,” Scott says. “I feel that I have a solid platform to share the story of my mother’s fight with others.”

With the help of her father, sister, and brother, she’s working to start a fund in her mother’s honor to benefit pancreatic cancer research. Over time, Scott hopes to start a charitable organization that focuses on causes close to her mother’s heart: education and providing opportunities and guidance to young girls.

Since making the move to Dallas three years ago, Scott has also exercised her journalism skills, working as an editorial intern at D Magazine and staff writer for People Newspapers. When she’s not instructing a class at The Bar Method or leading the DCC’s coveted “Show Group,” Scott likes to decompress by reading, freelancing, shopping in the Bishop Arts District, or enjoying girls’ nights on patios in Lower Greenville or Trinity Groves.

“I love being busy,” Scott says.” But when I have a break, I like to take advantage of it.”

